2019 TAB Queensland Thoroughbred Awards Finalists


Racing Queensland has unveiled the finalists ahead of the 2019 TAB Queensland Thoroughbred Awards at the Sofitel Brisbane Central.

Staged on Sunday, September 22, the Thoroughbred Awards are of the highlights on the racing calendar, with RQ set to acknowledge the best of the best over the past year, along with five inductees into the Hall of Fame.

Horse of the Year trophies will be awarded across a number of categories including the TAB Queensland Thoroughbred of the Year Award.

For the first time, RQ has introduced the Student of the Year Award to acknowledge the apprentice that demonstrates the most outstanding dedication in the Certificate IV in Racing (Jockey).

In total, 25 trophies will be awarded including Trainer, Jockey and Apprentice of the Year.

“The Thoroughbred Awards is a night not to miss,” RQ CEO Brendan Parnell said.

“This year we will acknowledge some extraordinary equine and human heroes - along with five thoroughly deserving Hall of Fame recipients - and I would encourage everyone with an interest in racing to attend and to help celebrate the 2018/19 racing season.”

Racing Minister Stirling Hinchliffe said the Palaszczuk Government recognised the importance of the thoroughbred racing industry across the state.

“We’ve backed that by increasing prize money in the major markets and setting up the four-year, $70 million Country Racing Package, which has been fantastic for all our country meets,” he said.

“This is going to be a night to celebrate this industry and the really positive impact it’s having for everyone involved, from the punters to the jockeys, the trainers and, of course, the horses.”

In the Two-Year-Old Horse of the Year, Garibaldi, Gem of Scotland, The Odyssey and Vincere Volare have been short-listed as finalists.

The Three-Year-Old Horse of the Year category looks incredibly strong with the unbeaten Zoustyle vying with Winning Ways, Queensland’s only Group One winner of the season, Boomsara, who tasted victory at the Magic Millions, and Baccarat Baby, a dominant last-start winner at the Group 3 Sunshine Coast Guineas.

Having won the Listed Goldmarket Handicap and the Group 3 BRC Sprint – as well as finishing second in the Stradbroke Handicap - Tyzone is among the finalists in the Four Years and Older category, alongside Houtzen, who placed at Group level in Australia and the UK, and Winter Bride, who enjoyed black-type success at Caulfield and Randwick.

In the Trainer of the Year Award, Metropolitan Premiership winner Tony Gollan will contend with Toby Edmonds, David Vandyke and Chris Waller.

Finally, the recently retired Jeff Lloyd will look to bow out with one final win after being named as a finalist alongside Michael Cahill, Matthew McGillivray and Justin Stanley in the Jockey of the Year Award.

Click here for further information or to purchase tickets to the 2019 TAB Queensland Thoroughbred Awards.

2019 Thoroughbred Awards Finalists

Queensland Jockey of the Year

Michael Cahill

Jeff Lloyd

Matthew McGillivray

Justin Stanley


Queensland Trainer of the Year

Toby Edmonds

Tony Gollan

David Vandyke

Chris Waller


Queensland Apprentice of the Year

Jag Guthmann-Chester

Jackson Murphy

Michael Murphy

Baylee Nothdurft


4YO and Older Horse of the Year



Winter Bride


3YO Horse of the Year

Baccarat Baby


Winning Ways



2YO horse of the Year


Gem of Scotland

The Odyssey

Vincere Volare



Queensland Student of the Year

Hannah Phillips

Hannah English

Jed Hodge



Horses of the Year

QTIS Horse of the Year (Prizemoney)

Queensland Horse of the Year


Queensland Broodmare of the Year
Queensland Stallion of the Year
Champion First Season Stallion
Champion 2YO Stallion

Apprentice Awards

Country Apprentice of the Year
Provincial Apprentice of the Year
Metropolitan Apprentice of the Year


Country Premiership Jockey
Country Premiership Trainer
Country Premiership Horse of the Year
Provincial Premiership Jockey
Provincial Premiership Trainer
Provincial Premiership Horse of the Year
Metropolitan Premiership Jockey
Metropolitan Premiership Trainer
Stewards Award

Hall of Fame