2018 QTIS Premiers Announced


After a hotly contested 2017/18 racing season, the QTIS Premiership winners were decided in the last two months of the season with Ben Currie, Robert Heathcote, Pennino and Bat A Kat taking the honours.

Currie and Heathcote have each won complimentary entry into the 2019-20 Magic Millions Series for a yearling that they purchase at one of the 2019 Magic Millions Sales.

Currie won the coveted title of 2yo QTIS Premiership Trainer on Earnings, banking $179,700 worth of QTIS bonus prizemoney (general prizemoney not included in these figures) for the season and training ten QTIS winners. 2014/15 Premiership winner Les Ross was second with $140,500 and Tony Gollan (3YO QTIS Premierships winner in 2014/15) came in third, earning $132,000 in QTIS bonuses.

 “I’m absolutely thrilled to take out this award,” said Currie.

“QTIS is a fantastic initiative that I have always supported, it makes a huge difference to prizemoney and is probably the best incentive scheme in Australia.

Currie said the win was thanks to the ongoing support he has had despite a tumultuous season.

“I couldn’t have achieved this without my fantastic staff and owners and I would like to thank them all for their support,” said Currie.

“I’d also like to thank the TBQA and Magic Millions for hosting this Premiership, it’s grown in popularity over the years and the monthly results are keenly watched by many trainers now.”

It was also a phenomenal season for Brisbane trainer Robert Heathcote, winner of the QTIS 3yo Trainers Premiership.

“That tops off a good, consistent season for me,” said Heathcote.

“I’ve got a strong stable of QTIS horses and the support of my owners is integral to this award, I’d like to thank them for that.”

Heathcote recorded thirteen QTIS wins and banked $233,400 in QTIS bonus prizemoney to finish just ahead of Ben Currie, with $164,900 and the 2015/15 Premiership winner Tony Sears on $131,200 in QTIS bonus prizemoney.

Incredibly, neither Currie nor Heathcote train the horses that claimed the top QTIS Performers on Earnings – they are both trained by Darryl Hansen.

The 2yo QTIS Premiership winner on Earnings was Pennino by Easy Rocking. This promising filly had eight starts for three wins and two seconds to earn $100,200 in QTIS bonuses.

Bat a Kat, by Falvelon, won the 3yo QTIS Premiership on Earnings. He picked up prizemoney at every start this season with an impressive four wins and two seconds from just six starts.

“What a great achievement to take out both those titles,” said a surprised Hansen.

“At the same time, how unlucky to miss the Trainers’ Premierships,” he joked.

“But seriously, I’m thrilled for the owners. Both horses always put in and are honest horses, their record shows that and I think they really deserve these awards.”

TBQA President, Basil Nolan thanked Magic Millions for their ongoing support of the QTIS Premiership.

“This is a highly sought after title and prize,” said Mr Nolan.

“Congratulations to all our QTIS Premiers. It’s fantastic to see that everyone who supports our Queensland industry can reap the rewards and be recognized for their efforts.

 “I’m sure everyone will be watching these QTIS statistics closely in the new racing season.”

You can see the full results, and follow the statistics each month on the TBQA website