RQ's Premiership Winners


Champion rider Jeff Lloyd, dominant trainer Tony Gollan and up-and-coming rider Tiffani Brooker scooped the major awards at the 2017 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred Awards in Brisbane on Saturday night.


Lloyd, 56, was all-conquering in the 2016/17 season and broke Chris Munce’s 2011/12 state record en-route to winning his second-consecutive Queensland Jockey of the Year title.


Among his 181 wins was the Magic Millions 2YO Classic aboard Houtzen, the G2 Victory Stakes aboard Music Magnate, and three legs of the Summer Crowns Series with outstanding colt, Winning Rupert.


“It was a great year and I think winning the Magic Millions was the highlight,” Lloyd said.


Gollan, 38, picked up his fourth Queensland Trainer of the Year title in as many years, after winning his fourth-consecutive Brisbane Metropolitan Trainers’ premiership (77 winners).


He would train 100 winners for the season across the state, finishing second to Toowoomba’s Ben Currie (103 winners) in the Queensland Trainers’ Premiership.


“It wasn’t the smoothest year we’ve had with a few ups and downs but we got there in the end. Jeff and (trainer) Toby Edmonds made it hard at some stages but we’ll see if we can get (the award) again,” Gollan said.


Sunshine Coast-based apprentice Tiffani Brooker took the Ken Russell Queensland Apprentice of the Year and Metropolitan Apprentice of the Year awards, after becoming the first female apprentice to ride 50 metropolitan winners in a season.


It was an all-female trifecta in the 2016/17 Metropolitan Apprentices’ title, with Brooker holding off Lani Fancourt and Rebecca Williams to claim the premiership.


“I know that I rode the winners but I have a great boss, a great manager, a really good mentor, really good friends and good jockeys who help me day in and day out,” she said.


Earlier, Dakota Graham won both the Country Premiership Jockey and Country Apprentice of the Year award, after a stellar debut season.


Daniel Griffin added to his swag of Queensland Provincial Jockey of the Year awards, while Zoe White earned the Provincial Apprentice of the Year award and the Race Zone Medal for most winners in a month (19 winners in November, 2016).


Bevan Johnson, Ben Currie and Gollan were awarded for winning the Country, Provincial and Metropolitan premierships respectively.




Magic Millions Queensland Trainer of the Year – Tony Gollan


Garrards Horse and Hound Queensland Jockey of the Year – Jeff Lloyd


Sky Racing Ken Russell Apprentice of the Year – Tiffani Brooker


Queensland Jockey Association Country Apprentice of the Year – Dakota Graham


RadioTAB Provincial Apprentice of the Year – Zoe White


Ladies In Racing Metropolitan Apprentice of the Year – Tiffani Brooker


Race Zone Medal (Most wins by an apprentice in a month) – Zoe White (19)


Racing Queensland Rookie of the Year – Corey Bayliss


The Courier-Mail Country Premiership Jockey – Dakota Graham


We’re Racing Everywhere Country Premiership Trainer – Bevan Johnson


Ipswich Turf Club Provincial Jockey – Dan Griffin


International Animal Health Products Provincial Premiership Trainer – Ben Currie


Fitton Insurance Brokers Metropolitan Premiership Jockey – Jeff Lloyd (pictured)


QRIC Stewards Award – Jim Byrne