Yankee Rose Horse of the Year


Group 1 winner and Cox Plate place-getter Yankee Rose claimed the coveted 2017 UBET Queensland Horse of the Year title in Brisbane on Saturday night.


The Sunshine Coast-based filly was adjudged Queensland’s best for the 2016/17 season by an experienced panel of media and racing experts, holding off Magic Millions 2YO Classic winner Houtzen by one vote.


Yankee Rose broke through for her maiden Group 1 victory in last year’s Spring Champion Stakes (2000m), before going on to finish behind Winx and Hartnell in the Cox Plate (2040m), providing a great thrill for her large syndicate of owners.


Queenslanders welcomed the 2016 Golden Slipper runner-up with open arms, after former Sydney trainer David Vandyke relocated his stables to Caloundra early last year.


“It’s just amazing because I’m new to Queensland, she’s new to Queensland and to receive such a distinguished award on the back of the great Buffering last year helps me realise this is home and I’m not going anywhere,” he said.


“For her to be heralded as the best horse in the state is an incredible honour.”


Yankee Rose also claimed the Queensland 3YO Horse of the Year award but Houtzen’s connections didn’t go home empty-handed, with the Toby Edmonds-trained filly taking out the 2YO Horse of the Year award.


Brisbane Summer Sprint Triple Crown winner Most Important claimed the 4YO and Older Horse of the Year award, with Paradis Imperial recognised for being the leading QTIS Horse of the Year for most bonus prize money earned.


The Krystle Johnston-trained Craiglea Deken won Provincial Premiership Horse of the Year, while Bevan Johnston’s Fab’s Cowboy earned the Country Premiership Horse of the Year title.


The 2017 Queensland Stallion of the Year went to Glenlogan Park’s Rothesay, with an impressive 71 winners from 158 horses to start. Broodmare Mrs Windsor – the dam of 2017 Queensland Oaks winner Egg Tart – claimed the Broodmare of the Year award.


Sidereus won the 2017 Champion 2YO Sire award, with Golden Archer claiming the Champion First Season Stallion title.


Award winners


UBET Horse of the Year – Yankee Rose


Grandview Stud 2YO Horse – Houtzen


Queensland Racehorse Owners Association 3YO Horse – Yankee Rose (pictured)


Stanley River Thoroughbreds 4YO and Older Horse – Most Important


Eureka Stud QTIS Horse of the Year – Paradis Imperial


Racing Queensland Provincial Premiership Horse – Craiglea Deken


Commotion Country Premiership Horse – Fab’s Cowboy